Skip to content

Melbourne Star and Catching Up

melbourne-star-views-structure-summer-7344

It has been a busy week, and I’m running very behind. I almost thought I wouldn’t get a post done today, but here I am, late, but here.

This last week I’ve been out a couple of times to take photos and if you follow my blog you will know that I went on the Melbourne Star, but more on that later. Let’s catch up on other things.

melbourne-star-views-structure-summer-7386

Dynamic Range Magazine

Yes, the magazine is still available for sale. It has been fantastic to hear from several people how much they have enjoyed, so thank you to those.

If you wish to purchase your copy then follow this link.

melbourne-star-views-structure-summer-7407

Published

I have had two articles published in the last week.

First of all, one for Digital Photography School:

Tips for Minimizing Reflections When Photographing Through Windows

The second article has been for Photographers.com.au

Taking a look at Social Media in a General Way

I hope you find them helpful.

melbourne-star-views-structure-summer-7449

Tasmania

I’m planning another trip. Somewhere a lot closer to home this time. I have wanted to go to Tasmania for a long time and now I think the time is right.

The trip is planned for June, winter. I have had a lot of people say I’m crazy to go then, but I love the idea of winter there. I think I will be able to get lots of moody images.

Now I am starting to look for sponsors. I need to work out some things, but once again, as I did with my trip to the US I will keep you updated with the trip and what sponsors I manage to get.

melbourne-star-views-structure-summer-7362

Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show

It is on again and starts on the 16th of March. I really enjoyed it last year and I’m looking forward to going again. I have been getting the macro lens out again to practice so I can get the best shots possible.

I’m also hoping that Tamron Australia might lend me a macro lens for the week. It would be nice to try it again. I hear it is being updated and there is a new version of it, but not sure I will be able to get it in time for the MIFGS.

Photos

The photos today are from my trip on the Melbourne Star. A friend and I went up on it earlier this week. You can see from the photos that it was a very warm day. It was also hazy. I used the rubber lens hood idea for taking photos on it, you can read about how in the article above about Photographing through Windows. I still have the Nikon 28-300mm lens and it has hardly been off my camera, so as you can probably guess all the photos in this post were taken with it.

I hope you have had a good weekend. It is almost over here.

19 Comments
  1. Great photos, Leanne, of your beautiful city!

    March 6, 2016
  2. As always, great photos and informative. Thanks Leanne.

    March 6, 2016
  3. Tasmania would certainly be different, I’ll look forward to seeing your images from there!

    March 6, 2016
    • Yes, I think so too Gypsy, and apparently very unpredictable, so I’m looking forward to that. Thank you.

      March 8, 2016
  4. You will love Tassie Leanne. Remember to pack your thermals!

    March 6, 2016
    • I think so too Carol, but I don’t have any thermals, I might have to see if I can get some before the trip. Thanks.

      March 8, 2016
      • Thermals are worth every cent – the best investment you will ever make. Kathmandu does good ones and Snowgum has excellent merino thermals. So light but so very warm.

        March 8, 2016
      • Can you get them without wool, I can’t wear wool. Size will be hard too, don’t think Kathmandu would fit me.

        March 8, 2016
      • Yes you can get polypropolene ones which are good too. Do some shopping around and see what you can find.

        March 8, 2016
      • good, I will look into them. Thanks Carol.

        March 8, 2016
  5. I enjoyed your article on minimising reflections. (Hopetoun tea rooms cake photos, I believe?) The rubber lens hood is a good idea, and I like the DIY practicality of the jacket!

    March 8, 2016
    • That’s wonderful, great feedback, thanks for taking the time to read it. Yes, the jacket was a great idea. Thank you.

      March 8, 2016
  6. Amanda #

    Leanne I just love your shots from the Melbourne Star. You have inspired me to get the courage to go on it now. I think the view is incredible.

    March 8, 2016
    • I am sure you will like it, and there is a seat in the middle if you don’t like looking down, you can just look out. Thanks

      March 9, 2016
  7. Great pics Leanne. You are always so busy! Don’t think I could do the Melb Star .. Too high. You will love Tassie if you haven’t been before. Make sure you go to a Richmond …

    March 9, 2016
    • Thank you Julie, it is very busy. It isn’t bad, the Melb Star, there is a seat in it and you can just sit on that and look out not down. I think I will too, I can’t wait to go. Will have to see, so many places to visit.

      March 9, 2016
  8. like the London Eye!! Great images!

    March 9, 2016
    • Same designer or something like that. Thanks Cybele.

      March 9, 2016

Comments are closed.

