Skip to content

Finding new places and catching up

This next week is set to be a very busy time for me. I’m doing something I’ve never done before, and there are places to go and take photos. Though first let’s start where I always do.

lake-elizabeth-rainforest-victoria-8225

Dynamic Range Magazine

Issue 3 can still be purchased at the shop on my website. At the same link you can also subscribe. Please buy your copy if you haven’t already.

Thank you to everyone who has, the feedback has been fantastic.

I need to clear up some things, firstly, the magazine is digital and you can only get it that way.

The magazine is published digitally 4 times a year.

We have had questions about that, so I wanted to sort it out.

Work has now started on the next issue, it is very exciting when we start getting the articles and seeing what people have written.  Looks like another great issue to come.

lake-elizabeth-rainforest-victoria-8351

Book on Banyule Flats

I went out the other morning and got my final images for the book. I have done nearly all I have to now. On the morning I went out I was greeted with the most beautiful sunrise, which I took photos of. I now have the cover shot for the book and I’m really happy about that. I did take some long exposures as well.  Now I have to coordinate the book being put together and get it published.

lake-elizabeth-rainforest-victoria-8267

Work experience Student

A first for me, I will have a work experience student with me this following week. Should be interesting. I’ve been asked before, but never felt like I was in a position that I could do anything with them. This week is going to be very busy, so I hope she enjoys her time with me.

lake-elizabeth-rainforest-victoria-8373

Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show

It starts this Wednesday and part of the reason why the week will be busy. I plan on going a few times and I’m looking forward to seeing what I can get there. One thing I like about it is all the different flowers. Such a variety.

I have a loan of the Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro lens which I’m looking forward to using again for the show as well. It will be nice to compare using it after I’ve had the Nikon one for over a year.

lake-elizabeth-rainforest-victoria-8258

Photos

For those of you who read my post on my other site know that when I went to Lorne and Dog Rocks the other day. I spoke about a new place I saw and said I would talk about it later, well it’s later.

We went to an amazing place up the back of Lorne called Lake Elizabeth. I have to say it was a lovely surprise. When we got to the car park I kept saying, are you sure there is a lake here, as we were in the middle of rainforest. We had to walk a bit, and do some not so nice uphill, but it was worth it. As I am sure you can see from the photos. Of course, plans are being made for a return trip. I believe camping was mentioned as well. Mmm, I’m doing some of that in a couple of weeks, will see how that goes first.  The things we do for our photography.

The photos are the walk to and from the lake and the lake. I do love how the light comes through rainforests and catches foliage. All the images were taken with the Nikon 28-300mm lens, the perfect lens for a walk like this.

I hope you are having a lovely weekend. It is Labour Day here on Monday, so a long weekend for us. Nice to get some rest in before the busy week.  I hope it is lovely where you are.

 

 

35 Comments
  1. I have been to Lorne a numbers of times and have never heard of Lake Elizabeth. You photos are beautiful, so I must go there next time.

    March 13, 2016
    • I was the same Anne, I’d been to Lorne many times over the last few years, you take the same road to go to Erskine Falls, but keep going. It is a bit of windy road and all dirt. If you google it you will see it. Thank you.

      March 13, 2016
  2. A beautiful discovery.

    March 13, 2016
  3. I love the photos you have shared with us today Leanne. They show the beauty of the place. It looks so tranquil there.

    March 13, 2016
    • Tranquil is a great word to use for it Colline, it was certainly that. Thank you.

      March 13, 2016
  4. Beautiful Leanne! 🙂 I love it!

    March 13, 2016
  5. Those fern are pretty

    March 13, 2016
    • I think so too Nora, the way the light hit them was magic. Thank you.

      March 13, 2016
  6. That place is completely immersed in the nature: it seems so paceful. Great shots anyway, I love how everythings seems to be uncontaminated!

    March 13, 2016
    • It certainly is. It was very peaceful, you couldn’t hear anything but the natural world. Thank you.

      March 13, 2016
  7. Fantastic and beautiful capture. Have a lovely week, Leanne.

    March 13, 2016
    • Thank you Cattan, and you have a lovely one too.

      March 13, 2016
  8. Love the top shot, Leanne!

    March 13, 2016
    • Thank you Graham, I quite like it too.

      March 13, 2016
  9. Excellent Snaps….

    March 13, 2016
  10. Beautiful photographs! This looks like such a wonderful spot to walk and take photos.

    March 14, 2016
    • Thank you Debi. It is, so tranquil.

      March 14, 2016
  11. Gary Light - Photographer #

    Lake Elizabeth is one of my favourite secret places.

    March 14, 2016
    • Woops, sorry Gary, I think I have let the cat out of the bag. Beautiful spot, I would like to explore it more.

      March 14, 2016
  12. I love ferns – and you really do them right. Love these shots.

    March 14, 2016
    • I do too, and thank you, that is lovely thing to say.

      March 14, 2016
  13. Hey Leanne don’t think I have ever been to Lake Elizabeth before. What a beautiful spot! The photos are lovely .. Must get in touch, I need to subscribe to the mag! I’m so disorganised! Bet you are pleased you have the cover pic for the book.

    March 14, 2016
    • It was new for me too, I will be back. It was glorious. Maybe the next time you are over we should take a trip down the coast. I’m always here Julie. I am, I love it too.

      March 15, 2016
      • Oh this comment made me smile! Next time I’m back, that is a deal 😃

        March 16, 2016
      • Sounds great. 😀

        March 17, 2016
  14. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Finding new places and catching up
    written by Leanne Cole
    This next week is set to be a very busy time for me. I’m doing something I’ve never done before, and there are places to go and take photos. Though first let’s start where I always do.

    March 15, 2016
  15. Thanks for the new spot up in Lorne, I never knew they had a lake up there. Will definitely check it out, make sure to let us know how the tamron 90mm 2.8 macro lens goes with the show! I hope I have a chance to go. Another great post Leanne.

    March 15, 2016
    • You’re welcome Jonathon, oh yes, most definitely one up there, though I had to see it to believe it. Thanks, I’ve had the Tamron macro before and I thought it was great.

      March 15, 2016
  16. Lovely shots, Leanne, as always! What’s your verdict on the Tamron lens? Anything negative?

    March 16, 2016
    • Thank you Patti, I think the Tamron Macro is a great lens, I recommend it all the time. I can’t fault it.

      March 17, 2016
      • Hi Leanne. Thanks! I am debating about getting a new macro.

        March 18, 2016
      • I can certainly recommend the Tamron, I think it is a great lens.

        March 19, 2016

Comments are closed.

