Skip to content

Work Experience from the student’s point of view

This last week has been interesting for me as I have had a work experience student, Alainne. She has been great and very willing to learn. I told her that part of my job is writing, so I had her write a post for this blog on how the week has been.

From Alainne and how her week doing work experience has been.

Over the past week I have had the pleasure of doing my work experience placement with Leanne Cole. I have learnt so many new and exciting things about photography that I probably wouldn’t have had the opportunity to learn if it wasn’t for this experience.

20160315-Work-experience- 3172

The first photographs we took were around the Eltham library. We took some photos of the building and photos of the trains as well. The train driver actually stopped the train to tell us that we were supposedly trespassing and weren’t allowed to take photos. Despite that I still managed to get a good shot of the train.

20160316-untitled- 3343

The next thing I leaned was how to process photographs. After I finally downloaded Photoshop and Lightroom onto my laptop that is. I had only ever used Photoshop a couple of years ago and even then I had no idea what I was doing. I can now say that I am definitely a lot more comfortable with using Photoshop and Lightroom to edit my photos.

20160316-untitled- 3423

On Wednesday we ventured into the city early in the morning to go to the Melbourne International Flower and Garden show. I learned how to use the macro setting on my camera to take close up photos of the beautiful flowers that were on display. I got to see the effects of changing the ISO, aperture and shutter speed on the camera which helped me to understand what Leanne had taught me about them the previous day. I now know that to have a good photo you must have a perfect balance of all three settings on the camera.

alainne-work-experience-night-photography-

Wednesday night was my favourite part of the whole week so far, we got to go back into the city at night to meet up with a group of regular night photographers. We took long exposure photos of Flinders Street Station and also photos of steel wool being lit and twirled in circles inside alley ways. It was so much fun and interesting to talk to that many photographers. It was good listening to them as they shared and compared tips and techniques. I used a tripod for the first time that Leanne was kind enough to lend me. I also a remote shutter release trigger that one of the night photographers kindly let me borrow. We only took a few photos over the course of the night because once the steel wool was a-light you only had one chance for a photo. This night was definitely an eye opening experience, I had never seen anything like the steel wool trick and I am now also in love with long exposure photography.

alainne-work-experience-night-photography--2

For me work experience has been an exciting, eye opening and a great learning experience. I have seen into the life of a photographer and I now know that it is something that I am most certainly interested in for myself. Leanne has been an amazing mentor, she has taught and shown me so many things about photography that I will now be able use for the rest of my life.

20160316-nightphotography-3489-Edit

35 Comments
  1. You’re a great teacher, Leanne.

    March 18, 2016
  2. Interesting – how lucky that you had Leanne as a mentor – she inspires so any people

    March 18, 2016
    • Alainne #

      I’m lucky I had the privilege to work with her.

      March 18, 2016
  3. Good work.

    March 18, 2016
    • Alainne #

      Thank you.

      March 18, 2016
  4. Ron #

    Hi Leanne, I have been following you for some time now and your photos have been an inspiration to me. I am very impressed with Alaine’s photos under your tuition. Shame that we have to be so politically correct and be limited in what we photograph. Did the train driver think that Alaine had evil intentions? Would love to do a photo walk with you some day. Regards Ron

    March 18, 2016
    • I think the train driver thought we were trespassing and that we shouldn’t be there. It was a bit annoying. Thank you Ron.

      March 18, 2016
  5. Ron #

    Hi Leanne, further to my post, being a fan of B & W, I love the train shot.

    March 18, 2016
  6. Sounds like the experience has been a good one. Life long learning ahead!

    March 18, 2016
    • Alainne #

      It has been an amazing experience, I’m so grateful.

      March 18, 2016
  7. Great post Alainne. I love the steel wool trick. The photos came out beautifully! I wish you well and hope you find a fulfilling and creative career to sink your teeth into, as you seem to have done in your work experience. Whether you choose to follow photography or not, I’m sure you will be very successful. You must have impressed Leanne quite a bit, for her to hand over the blog to you. Good luck. I hope we see more of you in the future. Kate

    March 18, 2016
    • Alainne #

      Thank you so much Kate, I hope to one day pursue a career in photography and I really appreciate your kind words.

      March 18, 2016
  8. Great post Alainne and what a wonderful week you’ve had with Leanne. I’m envious!

    March 18, 2016
    • Alainne #

      Thank you, it really was an amazing week.

      March 18, 2016
  9. Awesome for you and awesome for Alainne. Great results too!

    March 18, 2016
  10. I work in a University, helping to arrange work experience for our students. It gives students such a great opportuntiy to learn, as has happened here! Great work, Leanne!

    March 18, 2016
    • I think so too, I enjoyed the week and I hope she got a lot out of it.

      March 19, 2016
  11. Gorgeous photography! love.

    March 19, 2016
  12. You are a great teacher Leanne, I can sure vouch for that! Alaine’s pics are super .. I bet she had a great time

    March 19, 2016
    • I hope she did Julie, I enjoyed it too.

      March 19, 2016
  13. Wow those streaks of fire are next level. Incredible.

    March 19, 2016
  14. Marvelous!

    March 19, 2016
  15. Very nice story and excellent images. Thanks for sharing!

    March 19, 2016
  16. Nice work Allaine. Congrats Leanne – you are a great teacher!!

    March 19, 2016
  17. Alainne congratulations on you great work over the past week. And it was an absolute pleasure having you join us for the steelwool burning night and congratulations on some great shots.
    Well done Leanne on your fantastic work. And great to meet you both.

    March 19, 2016
  18. Alainne so glad you enjoyed your experience. I loved your train shot especially, so worth trespassing! ! Your long exposure of the steel wool definitely worth a frame. 😊

    March 19, 2016
  19. How lucky you are Alainne to be able to spend a whole week learning with Leanne. Well done, nice photos.

    March 19, 2016
  20. Great entry Alainne. I feel jealous reading about your experiences with Leanne.

    March 19, 2016
  21. All in a week’s time! Well done!

    March 20, 2016
  22. Well done Alainne this is such a good write up and I imagine Leanne was great to work with.

    March 20, 2016
  23. That’s awesome, it’s seems as though you had a wonderful learning experience. Your night photos were beautiful.

    March 20, 2016
  24. What an inspiring post! The night photography is amazing. Great job to both of you.

    March 21, 2016
  25. Alainne, you are so luky to have a super-teacher as Leanne, I’m very envious!
    Greetings to you – and your teacher – from far-away Denmark 😉

    March 25, 2016

Comments are closed.

