Skip to content

MIFGS and Catching Up

This past week has been a bit of blur really. I mean that in a good way, but it went so quickly and now I am finding I’m doing catch ups all round.

Dynamic Range Magazine

If you haven’t purchased your copy, then you can do it now at the Shop.

displays-mifgs-royalexhibitionbuilding-melbourne-9165

Work Experience

The week was also very busy because I had my first ever work experience student. It was certainly an experience for both of us I think.  It was great fun and I really enjoyed teaching her and showing her around. I loved how involved she got and was so interested to learn. It was funny watching her diving into Photoshop and getting hooked. I know that feeling.  I hope I will see her again in the future.

displays-mifgs-royalexhibitionbuilding-melbourne-9440

Digital Photography School

I have another article for you to look at. This one is a tutorial on stacking light trails. Here is the link:

Stacking Light Trails for Night Photography Special Effects

If you enjoy it consider sharing it.

displays-mifgs-royalexhibitionbuilding-melbourne-9150

MIFGS

Or to be more precise the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show. It has been on this last week. I went in on Wednesday and had planned on going again, but the weather really took a turn for the worse. I enjoyed what I saw, and you will some of that as the photos today are from there.

I love how you can just go and take photos of the flowers and there isn’t any pressure to buy. There are always some very interesting ones to see as well.

If you are in Melbourne today it is the last day to see it.

displays-mifgs-royalexhibitionbuilding-melbourne-9482

Photos

As I said the photos today are from the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show. They were taken with the Tamron 90mm macro 2.8 lens and the Nikon 28-300mm lens. I was very happy to have had both those lens with me, it was like I had everything covered. We went around once, so I could take photos with the macro lens, then went back to take some photos with the other one.

It is a great opportunity to see display gardens, new flowers and what’s new for the garden. It is a photographers feast.

I will be doing some more work on some of the macro shots and will show them in a post soon.

I hope your weekend is going well. We have a few days of colder weather, rain and it has been lovely. So nice not having to turn on the air conditioner.

22 Comments
  1. Great work and I have the feeling you are a fantastic teacher!

    March 20, 2016
    • Thank you Ingrid, you might have to ask Alainne.

      March 20, 2016
  2. Great images and lots of variety among them. I’m sure there were lots of interesting subjects for you at the flower show. Your work experience person was very lucky to get paired with you. I would have loved such an opportunity.

    March 20, 2016
    • Thank you Laura. There were, and I’ve only showed a few, I did lots of macros of the flowers. I was lucky too I think, she was so much fun and I really enjoyed her company. 😀

      March 20, 2016
  3. Gorgeous photos, so full of colour and light. I love the jumping hares.

    March 20, 2016
    • Thank you, the hares were great, would like those in my garden.

      March 20, 2016
  4. I am sure your student learned a lot from you Leanne.

    March 20, 2016
    • I hope so Colline, she was doing good with the camera at the end of the week.

      March 20, 2016
  5. your pictures did not load…

    March 20, 2016
    • I don’t know why Rajiv, they are loading on my computer.

      March 20, 2016
      • Shall try again..

        March 21, 2016
  6. Love the depth of field with the statue in front of the Exhibition building. AND love the playing rabbits

    March 20, 2016
    • Thank you Suzie, I tried very hard with those two.

      March 21, 2016
  7. I love the exhibition hall too! It makes whatever is inside that much better. I’m looking forward to your macros.

    March 21, 2016
    • It is a beautiful hall, I totally agree Shona, it is great. Thank you.

      March 21, 2016
  8. These are so beautiful! I love the displays. I look forward to seeing your macro shots!

    March 21, 2016
    • Thanks Debby, they are fantastic.

      March 21, 2016
  9. How fun having a work study student! Nice photos. My favorite are the long one of the hall and the fountain with the building in the back. I know what you mean about the week being a blur.

    March 21, 2016
    • It was fun, she was really good. The fountain one was great, the lighting was just perfect, if you ask me. It has been a big blur, time to get some work done.

      March 21, 2016
  10. Hi Leanne. That’s a great article on stacking light trails. Great tips and step-by-step directions!

    March 21, 2016
    • That is wonderful Patti, good feedback, thank you.

      March 22, 2016

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. MIFGS and Catching Up | JUst ENTERtainmentz

Comments are closed.

