Skip to content

Camping and catching up

It has been a very busy couple of weeks. So much happening and many days I have no idea where to start. I just keep plugging along, that is all I can do really.

Dynamic Range Magazine

The next issue is coming together nicely. It has been lovely once again seeing the amazing articles and images being sent in. We might have the front cover for you soon to see.

Some of the articles you can expect to see in Issue 4 are, one on Underwater Photography, Architectural Photography, Birds of Costa Rica, Using Instagram, Coming to Photography Later in Life, and another article on long exposure photography.

Now, if you haven’t got either the last, or the last three issues, it isn’t too late. You can buy them here, Shop.

Subscriptions are also available and you can get those at the same place.

It is great to see so many of you supporting this magazine.

craigshut-mtsterling-victorian-highcountry-9700

The Six Seasons of My Backyard

My book on Banyule Flats through the seasons is coming together wonderfully. All the photos are done and now we are working on the layout. We have had a small hiccup and hopefully the issue will be resolved soon, but it looks like it could mean the book will take longer to publish that I had thought. I am hoping the issue is resolved soon.

craigshut-mtsterling-victorian-highcountry-9803

Teaching

I’ve been away a bit teaching as well. I do love doing the One on One Photography lessons. It is a great way to meet people and get out to take photos. I love being able to go to new places, and often the people who start as students end up becoming friends as well once the formal classes are done.

I’m going to be working on some checklists for my students this week. Something small for them to carry around and use to help them work out what they need to do.

craigshut-mtsterling-mountain-victorian-highcountry

Camping

Well, that was something very new, I have to say. I had to get a tent, a mattress and not much else, which was good. A friend and I decided that for some places we really need to be able to camp. We got our gear together and planned our first trip.

That first trip was to Mount Sterling and Craig’s Hut. It is a very famous hut that sits on top of the mountain. It was made for the movie The Man from Snowy River in the 1980’s. It has been built to look like the huts that many of the cattlemen and horsemen used for shelter when they were allowed to graze their animals up there.

It was quite incredible. You can see across the top of the mountains. It was quite hazy, but okay for photos. The area around the hut was cleared so you could see it. There were also places for picnics and toilets, always good. It was a hard place to get to and you really need a AWD or 4WD to get up the road. It was an experience.

The camping part was okay. I mean I wouldn’t want to do it every night, but to do occasionally wouldn’t be too bad. I like the idea of being able to set up close to a place and then waking up early to get a sunrise. A lot better than getting up several hours before hand and driving somewhere.

craigshut-mtsterling-victorian-highcountry-9886

Photos

The photos are all from the camping trip. You can see the hut and some of the area around it. We had hoped for a sunset, a sunrise, maybe the milky way and perhaps get a star trail. We got none of it. It was too overcast to do anything. Still clouds can be great in photos and I couldn’t be disappointed with these. In the morning was watched with fascination as the clouds crawled over the neighbouring mountains. We were also drowned out by the currawongs as they ate and flew around us.

I hope your weekend is good. It is still very grey here, but that is supposed to change soon.

 

41 Comments
  1. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web.

    April 3, 2016
  2. Very beautiful photos. I love the cabin, and the one with there yellow wildflowers. Sounds like you had a fun trip.

    April 3, 2016
    • Thank you Cynthia, I loved the flowers, such a lovely surprise to them there. I did, it was good trip.

      April 4, 2016
  3. Lots going on!! All the photos from your camping trip are exquisite!

    April 3, 2016
    • Certainly is Tiny, but all good, I think. Thank you.

      April 4, 2016
  4. Just gorgeous shots! I love the mountains rolling on and on. I’m lucky to live up that way and get to see similar views quite often.

    April 3, 2016
    • I love those too Debbie, you are lucky, it would be great to see them all the time. Thank you.

      April 4, 2016
  5. you didn’t ask for much from your first camping trip! sunset, milkyway, startrails, and a sunrise! even without those spectacular events you still captured the beauty of the day! great photos

    April 3, 2016
    • No not much, but surely it wasn’t too much to ask to get one of them, haha. I did like what I got, the clouds were great. Thanks Janice. We must talk soon too.

      April 4, 2016
  6. How exciting to hear that your book is coming together. I look forward to seeing it soon. I agree with you, camping is nice but I wouldn’t want to do it every day. I prefer using the caravan to a tent.

    April 3, 2016
    • Thank you Carol, it is looking really good. Caravan sounds good, but a little bit more expensive, lol.

      April 4, 2016
  7. Lovely, kind of other worldly.

    April 3, 2016
  8. You are a busy lady. Glad the camping trip worked out, though from the dark pictures (which I like) it looks a little gloomy there. Best of luck with your ventures.

    April 3, 2016
    • Thank you Sherry, it was overcast, not as overcast as in the photos, I like dark and gloomy.

      April 4, 2016
  9. enchantingly surreal, Leanne
    am:)

    April 3, 2016
  10. Camping was worth the effort. Good for you, and it paid off in images.

    April 3, 2016
    • It certainly was Sally, thank you.

      April 4, 2016
  11. Absolutely gorgeous!

    April 3, 2016
  12. Great photos! Glad that you enjoyed your camping trip!

    April 4, 2016
  13. Stunning as always Leanne!

    April 4, 2016
  14. Wonderful collection of photos! beautifully stark, and moody Leanne.
    There is a great sense of ‘Impending darkness’ to these that really creates a tension. Awesome use of light and shadow!! cheers, Debi

    April 4, 2016
    • Thank you Debi, I love moody.
      I like that, great description, rain was forecast, but it didn’t arrive.

      April 4, 2016
      • that was lucky, the No Rain! 🙂

        April 4, 2016
      • Very lucky, though we could use it.

        April 4, 2016
  15. What an incredible place! I love the picture with the chains of mountains disappearing in the distance. And the one of the brightly lit yellow flowers against the dark clouds. Glad you had such a great camping experience.

    April 4, 2016
    • Thanks Reggie, I did, it was quite a place for photos.

      April 4, 2016
  16. Your series of images have so much soul Leanne…simply beautiful. The reading was super too – from your new follower 🙂

    April 4, 2016
    • Thank you, I love that idea. Hello new follower. 😀

      April 5, 2016
  17. Hi Leanne. Lovely shots, as always, and great projects. We’ve been to Sydney a few times, but never Melbourne. When we come the next time, I’d love to take your one-on-one class. On our last visit our son (who’s now grown) was just 9 months old. With jet lag and the time change and a cranky baby, I didn’t take many photos!

    April 9, 2016
    • Yes, come to Melbourne, heaps better than Sydney, lol. I know the feeling, we went to Denmark with a 4 month old, lived there for 7 months, and I didn’t take any except of her and some fun stuff. The only regret really from the trip. I will have to go back. Thanks Patti, hope to see you in my hometown one day.

      April 9, 2016
      • It’s a blur, isn’t it? Our dear friends in Sydney took us to a play on that trip and I dozed off through it. 😦 I hope you go back to Denmark and get to record it all!

        April 9, 2016
      • It is, though I have all these images in my head from things I saw there that I would like to photograph, I hope one day to go back. Thanks Patti.

        April 11, 2016
  18. Lovely! I recently came back from a few days camping in the desert too. I enjoyed every minute of it.

    April 10, 2016
    • Camping is fun, there is a freedom or something in it, I don’t now. Thanks

      April 11, 2016
  19. Gary Light #

    Love Craig’s Hug, well worth the journey. Nice post.

    April 12, 2016

Comments are closed.

