Skip to content

WordAds

Excuse me for a moment, but I have to have a small whinge.

I’ve been doing WordAds on this blog since 2012 and while I’ve earned money from it, I have to say not much. I thought having it would be good, earn a bit of money from the blog while doing it. Seriously though, unless you are getting huge stats you really don’t earn much.

I wonder how many people start doing it, then realise that they won’t see a cent until they have earned more than $100. Do you know how long it can take to earn that $100? At the moment I’ve had money pending for 9 months.

Some months I earn $15, or there abouts, then other months I earn $5, but this last month had to be the worst. I was paid 94 cents, yep, for 2 and half thousand impressions, whatever an impression is. That is like 3 cents per impression. Mind you the stats were the same for the previous month, but got 1/8 of the impressions.

I find myself asking some questions. One, is it worth it? No, it isn’t and I would like to get rid of them, but I am so close to the $100, but if they are only going to pay me 94 cents a month, it will take another year to get that 100 dollars.

Do they think we are stupid? Seriously the adds are there, so why aren’t I getting paid accordingly as my audience is annoyed with them.

Would I recommend WordAds to others? NO WAY. Unless you have a huge following, are getting thousands of hits a day, then all you will be doing is sitting around and waiting.

They now have a plugin so if you have a self hosted site you can use them on there, OMG, you have to be joking right, as if. As soon as I get my $100 I’m outta there, no more WordAds for me, I just hope I don’t die of old age waiting.

76 Comments
  1. Roger that! Message received and understood 🙂 Are you able to sign up with a blogger agency at all using WordPress? You may have better luck that way in generating an income.

    April 4, 2016
    • No, you can’t do anything on WordPress except WordAds, I could on my website, but haven’t really looked into it, maybe I should. Thanks Christina.

      April 4, 2016
  2. wow! Leanne, thanks for sharing!
    I didn’t take it as a whinge, I’m learning by listening! Good Info. 🙂

    April 4, 2016
    • You’re welcome.
      That’s good, glad you found it good.

      April 4, 2016
  3. Whinge away Leanne. I was contacted very early on when I started my blog and I refused the ads. I just didn’t want them distracting from my content, no artistic control and all of that and having realised that the payout on some YouTube content I have was so miniscule, I refused. These companies are only making billions of dollars from advertising through paying the people that host the ads peanuts. I’m sorry you got caught out because yes, the ads are distracting and on some themes, compete so aggresively with any photographic content being displayed it’s ridiculous!

    April 4, 2016
    • Thanks Adrian, you had a better idea than me. I have to say it is exactly as you describe it. As soon as I get the $100 I’m dropping it. Thanks for what you have said to, it is very interesting, and very true.

      April 4, 2016
  4. I tried google ads a few years back and it was the same. I never got my money. That’s when I figured out I didn’t want to be a google serf. I think the only way to make any good money at it is to cheat and write to the ads.

    April 4, 2016
    • You made the right decision, I am trying not be one, but I don’t want to give them so much money, advertising on my blog for so long, I should get paid. You might be right. Thanks.

      April 4, 2016
  5. Hi Leanne, I’ve never deliberately clicked on any of these WordAds that appear below your posts, though I have accidentally clicked on a couple in the early days, when I was new to blogging and didn’t realise that they were adverts. Now, I know never to click on them and to ignore them. On the whole, I dislike advertising on blogs, though I do accept that it does at least keep them free.

    I only realised now, on reading up on WordAds, that they always appear on the free WordPress.com hosted blogs (unless you buy a no-ads upgrade) and that they only appear on the paid-for WordPress blogs if you deliberately subscribe to WordAds.

    I do understand that, for you as a prolific blogger with such a big following and such excellent and informative articles, it would be helpful to earn money from running these adverts on your blog. But I don’t think that WordAds is the way to go…. increasing subscriptions to your brilliant magazine and promoting the lessons you offer would be more effective. Anyway, I wish you the best of luck! May you soon get paid your first $100!

    April 4, 2016
    • Yes, I suspect people are over advertising in general, I want to get rid of them but I don’t want them to get away with advertising on my blog for free. I did buy the no ads, and pay a lot for this blog, but I set up the ads to see if I could make some money. I have been paid in the past, but it is getting less and less, and I think I want out. Thanks

      April 4, 2016
  6. I am the same I have adds on another site I run and as yet not received a bean. Having read what you have to say I think I may get shot of adds on my site as well if it every reaches that magic number to release funds.

    April 4, 2016
    • I can’t see how it is worth it Mitch and when you compare month by month it doesn’t make any sense at all. I can’t wait to get rid of them. Thanks Mitch.

      April 5, 2016
  7. That is what push lots of people to self-host their blogs. Some people scrap the ads and use donate button.

    April 4, 2016
    • Nice idea Noel, though I tried a donate button once and didn’t get much from it either, lol, the ads are a pain, and I think it is time to get rid of them. Thanks Noel.

      April 5, 2016
  8. Thanks for the info about the program. I didn’t realize it was so difficult to make any money. In my opinion, you always seem to have a lot of likes and comments, so if you say it isn’t worth it, that’s saying a lot.

    April 4, 2016
    • You’re welcome Cynthia, It is very difficult, funny a friend was saying to me yesterday how I make great images, the area I suck at is making money, she was so right. Yeah, I don’t think it is, I’m definitely going to get rid of them when I get the $100, well if I ever get it.

      April 5, 2016
      • Wow, sounds like such a hassle. Good luck, I hope you get your money soon!

        April 5, 2016
      • It is Cynthia, more than it is worth, that’s for sure.

        April 5, 2016
  9. This is interesting, Leanne! I am wondering if this is the ad that shows up on the bottom of my blog – I didn’t sign up for that but it is there….and no one ever told me about making money off it – not that I would, I don’t have the follower base you have, but either way, this seems silly!

    April 4, 2016
    • It probably is Robyn, though if you don’t pay anything for your blog you will get ads, I paid to get rid of them, but then I decided to WordAds, see if the blog could make some money, and it did slowly, but now it is so slow it isn’t worth it. Thanks Robyn.

      April 5, 2016
  10. I opted out of WordAds ages ago. Like you said unless you have thousands of hits you can wait until you are old and grey before you see any type of money. My blog is ad free and I’m happy with that.

    April 4, 2016
    • Yes, exactly Cate, it is getting worse too, they are paying less and less. I need to get a few more though so the money is mine and not theirs. Thanks Cate.

      April 5, 2016
  11. I agree Leanne I’m in the same boat as you are. I’m coming close to my hundred dollars but it’s taking forever. Once I hit the threshold and I get paid I’m getting rid of them as well.

    April 4, 2016
    • Forever and ever, I might see if I can do a push this month and get it over the threshold, hopefully neither of us have to wait too long. good luck to you Edith, thanks.

      April 5, 2016
  12. Well put Leanne. My blog isn’t big enough to attract those ads but after reading your post I will not accept them if I do get to the size they are interested in.

    I agree with others who say they are annoying. I see them everywhere I go on the internet and they are a pain.

    I enjoy your blog and love your photography. Keep up the great work.

    Regards.

    April 4, 2016
    • I don’t know how big your blog would need to be to get any benefit from them.
      I think it is time to get rid of them, soon anyway. Apparently AdBlock is good for eliminating them, or so you don’t see them Dave, if that helps.
      Thank you, I will do my best.

      April 5, 2016
  13. I have ad-blocker and no-script on all my browser. I hate ads.

    April 4, 2016
    • That would explain why I don’t see them as well, haha. Thanks

      April 5, 2016
  14. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    April 4, 2016
  15. This has been my experience too. There’s no rhyme or reason to the impression (there’s not even any hint what an impression actually is); and like you, I’m bailing once I get my $100.

    I’ve been considering bailing on WordPress altogether since it seems every time I come back, some new thing has been implemented that doesn’t work as well as the old thing. I understand they’re trying (desperately) to make the site mobile friendly, but I WANT THE BLOODY OPTION to use the old one or not… I don’t blog from my phone, and when I’ve tried to correct typos from the phone, for instance, the experience is miserable and makes me hate WordPress yet the more.

    I have the skills to build a website, make it mobile friendly, build my own database, etc. So I’m only on WP for the convenience… and that’s going away the longer I stay here.

    Sorry to hijack your whinge with mine.

    April 4, 2016
    • Absolutely none and if you compare previous months there no comparison. It is almost as bad as trying to work out Facebook. I’m doing the same.

      They do love to play with the programs, and make changes, but not always for the better. I get completely what you mean, it is all being set up for the phone, I will never blog from the phone, typing on it is a nightmare.
      I have a self hosted site, but people won’t change over to it, which is a shame, I do more stuff over there, more interesting things anywhere, I think.

      You’re welcome, nice to hear I’m not the only one that needs to vent. Thanks Matt.

      April 5, 2016
  16. Timothy Price #

    I have ad blocker and don’t click through ads on any site. I find ads are annoying. I looked at all the ad options years ago and decided they were more of a scam than a service to anyone. I don’t like pestering my followers with ads, so I never messed with them. WP puts ads on my blog because I won’t pay extra to not have the ads. Another reason I don’t like WP.

    April 5, 2016
    • They are annoying, that’s for sure. I think they can be a good money maker if you are thousands and thousands of hits, but if you aren’t then they are taking advantage of you. Haha, seems a few people are not happy with WordPress right now.

      April 5, 2016
      • Timothy Price #

        There is also a real problem with malware and ransom-ware ads getting into legitimate sites. Another reason I have never clicked on ads.

        April 5, 2016
      • I hadn’t thought of that Timothy, but great point.

        April 5, 2016
  17. Apparently my ad blocker has stripped them. I’ve never seen ads on this site. Sorry. My ‘old’ site had no ads as I paid to remove them. Probably have to pay again, not sure. The company that provides the ads must be taking 95% of any money for your ads, just a guess.

    April 5, 2016
    • Yes, apparently it does do that, I don’t see them either. If you have a free blog you will have them I imagine, though they don’t always put them on every blog. They are making a lot of money I would say, especially ripping us all off. Thanks John.

      April 5, 2016
  18. I pay WordPress not to have ads on my site. People were complaining about them.

    April 5, 2016
    • I do too, so I know I can get rid of them when I’m ready, which I hope will be soon. thanks Debra.

      April 5, 2016
  19. Agreed! I felt like it was an okay thing to do as it inspired me a bit to keep up with the blog. In the early days I was doing pretty well monthly and it made me feel like my hours of work were appreciated. The earnings have completely dropped out and, like you said, it takes months to get a $100 even. I had hoped that this would be a minor income boost and I see what I do as fairly popular with a certain crowd. I know the businesses that advertise are making huge money so I think I’m done with it as well (when I reach the next $100 bench mark of course!).

    When it was $150+ per month I felt the little monetary compensation made up for dealing with some of the odd-balls, trolls, etc. Not any longer. $15 is just an odd little treat in exchange for cluttering up my blog.

    April 5, 2016
    • Wow George, I never ever got anything like that much. I think I got almost $50 a couple of times, now it is 94 cents. I will take me months and months to get my money now. Yes, I don’t doubt they are making lots of money, they get paid for the people who want to advertise, and pay us to little for the use of our blogs. Time to stop I think. Thanks George.

      April 5, 2016
      • I think I got some more money when my links were coming directly from some big, commercial sites like Intructables and some housing sites. They keep it a mystery so that is just a guess.

        April 6, 2016
      • They do, you were lucky I would say, I never saw anything like that, unfortunately.

        April 6, 2016
  20. Hi Leanne,
    Thanks for the scoop. I believe an “impression” is when someone clicks on an ad. I’m not sure if you get a bigger payment if someone “converts” (buys something after they’ve clicked into the ad site). I ran ads through WordAds when it first came out. My ads were about my novel – and exactly zero conversions occurred! So I lost money since I was paying to run the ads! I gave up on WordAds years ago.
    Thanks for the update because every now and then I wonder if I should put ads on my sites. Now I know, NO!!! 🙂

    April 5, 2016
    • It could be, I don’t know, but then how much they pay per impression seems to change each month, there seems to be no rhyme or reason to it, a bit like Favebook, lol. That’s terrible about your ad, I’ve never tried doing my own, my experience seems to be unless you are prepared to spend a fortune you won’t get anything. SEems the same with doing it on your blog. I wouldn’t bother with them Mary, they really aren’t worth it. Thanks.

      April 5, 2016
  21. Of all the blogs I follow, yours has the most followers. That is well deserved, you provide good, useful, and insightful information in a joy-to-read style and marvelous photography. I try to support you; when I need to check on some equipment I go to your blog and click the B&H ad (which now seems to be gone). I know that this gets you a fraction of a cent at best. Those ads at the bottom of a post and ahead of the comment are an irritation. I have never clicked one. I will do so now on your blog to help you get to a payment. Good luck and keep blogging!

    April 5, 2016
    • I know what you mean Ludwig, I don’t see the ads, I have an ad blocker. You don’t have to worry about it Ludwig, hopefully I can get the figures up and see if I get a final payment, but thank you, very kind of you.

      April 5, 2016
      • We have learned a neat trick there! When I become a gutter-merchant I will take that lesson to heart: Don’t pay until some fixed value is earned. At first make earnings enticingly big, decrease steadily so the payout value is never reached and your advertising mark will hang in there forever.

        April 6, 2016
      • It is so hard not to be cynical about it, but I do think you have absolutely hit the nail on the head, which would explain why the number of impressions, versus the money doesn’t make any sense, there is no pattern to it. I don’t know if I will hang out forever, but I will keep it until I get there, I only need about 8 or 9 dollars.

        April 6, 2016
    • I always try to see both sides of an issue. In this case, I think Google can’t be writing checks for $.54 (for instance) to thousands of sites that run ads and that have only earned that amount in a pay period.
      On the other hand, imagine those thousands of $.54 held back in a bank account – earning interest! (I’m presuming the source of this resource is from those who run the ads – as they pay Google to run the ads and Google pays a % from that income to the sites that host the ads.) This may be how Google makes money off this enterprise. Leanne says that she’s not paid till she reaches $100. Is that $100/mo., $100/qtr., $100 per year? Again, imagine Google holding thousands upon thousands of dollars in an account, waiting to be paid out to deserving sites that run ads – but that have not yet reached the $100 mark. The interest on this $$$ could be significant. Businesses are in business to make money. This scenario is no different. The concern is – is it a fair market that’s been put in place Google? Or are sites being ripped-off and is Google the only $$$ winner?

      April 6, 2016
      • Mary, this isn’t Google, it isn’t Google Ads, it is WordPress’s version of them. You can’t put GoogleAds on your blog, so WP came up with their own version, WordAds.

        April 6, 2016
      • Either way, just replace “WordAds” with “Google” in my comment.

        April 6, 2016
      • I just thought I should clear that up, as they have nothing to do with google, apparently. Still dodgy.

        April 6, 2016
  22. is this a per click pay kind of thing? Or based on actual purchases?

    April 5, 2016
    • I have no idea, can’t work it out at all. Sorry.

      April 5, 2016
    • Hi Dormis,
      That’s what I was trying to explain in my comment above – it’s probably both, and the variation in payments may be due to variations in “impressions” (i.e. “clicks”) v.s. “conversions” (i.e. “purchases” that occur after the impression/click). I’m guessing that there is a statistics page that identifies all of the calculations – just as we see a stats page re visitors and page visits to our sites.

      April 6, 2016
      • Hi Mary, oh ok I see. I would like to see one of these so called ads, as I’s curious to investigate it further. Thanks for the explanation!

        April 6, 2016
      • If you don’t have ad blocker you should see them on my blog.

        April 6, 2016
      • oh ok I’ll disable it. i looked and wondered – forgetting all about ad blocker. ok thanks.

        April 6, 2016
  23. Very early on, I accidently looked at my blog without logging in and realized they were placing ads in there.

    I paid for the “upgrade” to no ads. Frankly, I don’t mind paying. If they are going to make money from me, it might as well be in my control how I pay them and what I get for said payments; right now, it’s no ads.

    I’m in the middle of stuff now, but in a few months I will be looking to get my own website hosted elsewhere because it’s not just the ads.

    They are forever changing things (“improving”) not for the benefit of the users, but to help them better monetize said users. It’s getting old.

    April 5, 2016
    • I have paid to have no ads as well, but I signed up to try and get money from them putting ads there.
      I have a self hosted site, but getting people to it has proven to be very difficult, you will have to let me know how it goes.
      I agree, the changes for the sake of changes are getting annoying.

      April 5, 2016
  24. Go on .. Pull the plug! 😃

    April 5, 2016
    • I will as soon as I get the money, ahaha

      April 5, 2016
  25. Thank you for sharing your experience.

    April 6, 2016
  26. I have always avoided schemes like this. And I never click on the links, either. I have seen too many computers ruined by clicking on adverts, even on the search engine home pages. The problem is that the real money to be made is not in the impressions, but in the clicks through to the advertised site. But who wants to chance it being a scam?

    April 6, 2016
    • It is probably a good thing to do that. It seemed like a good idea, and I have made money, but it has dropped off a lot over time.

      April 8, 2016
  27. I have not been successful with WordAds, mostly because my blog doesn’t get that many views..

    April 6, 2016
    • I think you have to get a lot of views to be successful and that isn’t me really.

      April 8, 2016
  28. I keep being told it is adblocking software ? But even so the numbers don’t add up. I run three separate ads per page, basic maths tells you that impressions should be more than views. Its all a little fishy. http://thriveonnews.com/2016/04/06/ban-ad-blockers/

    April 8, 2016
    • I agree, it doesn’t add up, it is all too weird.

      April 8, 2016
  29. Great whinge. Well done! Sorry it’s been the pits.

    April 12, 2016
    • Thanks Nicci, sometimes you just gotta let it out.

      April 12, 2016
  30. I feel the same Leanne, My blog has more than 1,1 M pageviews last month, And more than 600K ads impression… And i only got $90. When I try to contact WP Staff, They asked me to go selfhosting and choose another ads advertiser… I just can’t believe about that answer.

    *Sorry for my bad english

    April 15, 2016
    • Interesting response, who know knows what they think, thanks for sharing.

      April 16, 2016

Comments are closed.

