Skip to content

It’s been a funny time

It seems I’m a bit all over the place at the moment. The blog is taking a bit of a back seat and while I don’t mean it too, I am finding myself distracted by other things. So let’s have an update and see what is happening.

city-river-evening-night-melbourne-0775

Banyule Flats Book

Things are coming to a head with it and I feel like we are on the run to the finish line. I don’t have a date for completion, some things that are out of my control have happened, but I continue on and get it as close to completion as I can. We have a layout, we just need to work on that now.

So, right now I don’t know when the book will be published, but hopefully you and I won’t have to wait too long.

city-river-evening-night-melbourne-0826

Dynamic Range Magazine

I’m also very busy getting the next issue of the magazine ready. I realised the other day that the magazine has been a reality for over 12 months now. The idea was conceived about this time last year. Took a while to get the first issue out, but we did. Now we are getting the fourth issue ready to publish.

Writers Wanted and Ideas for Articles

We just wanted to let you know that we are always looking for writers. There are guidelines on my website, or here is the link. Not everyone can write for a magazine, but if you are happy to work with us, we are happy to work with you. That might mean that you have to rewrite your article several times, but we want the best we can get from you.

We are always looking for suggestions too, so if you have any ideas for articles, then let us know as well. You can send your ideas to dynamicrangemagazine@gmail.com.

city-river-evening-night-melbourne-0893

Changes to the Blog

I’m thinking of making some more changes to this blog. Time is short and I’m finding the Introduction posts hard to do. I have trouble finding people sometimes, so we might just do them once a month.

I think I want to do more on my other blog, the one on my website. I like the idea of sharing ideas and my artwork with you there. It has been great to see lots of you over there, so please keep going. The rest of you, would love to see you there as well.

I might even start doing monochrome madness over there. I don’t know at this stage. I have more space and more control over on that blog. Someone here said recently that they are getting sick of all the changes that Automatic are doing WordPress.com and I have to say I am too. You never know what you will wake up to.

So please, if you like my work and like what I do please consider subscribing here.

city-river-evening-night-melbourne-0942

Teaching

Last weekend I spent Sunday night teaching someone how to use a DSLR. They had never had one before, so it was all new. Still good fun, which leads me to the photos for this article.

city-river-evening-night-melbourne-0960

Photos

The photos were taken in the city last week. We started late in the afternoon and we went until it was dark. We spent our time along the river, which is always a great place for photos, especially at night.

All images were taken with the Nikon 28-300mm lens.

52 Comments
  1. Brilliant evening photos all round in Melbourne, Leanne. I really like the last one of Princes Bridge and the Arts Centre. What beautiful colours.

    Sorry to hear some things about the book, but I’m sure working hard on it, it will be out soon. Good things take time to happen πŸ™‚ I’ve been liking the stuff on your other blog and looking forward to checking it out more soon πŸ™‚

    April 12, 2016
    • Thank you Mabel. I have never really shot that image before, so it was nice to get.
      I like that idea about good things. It will be done soon I’m sure. Thanks for going there and looking I do appreciate it Mabel.

      April 12, 2016
  2. Just subscribed to the other site, great Pictures and the other Blog looks Great…Mike W

    April 12, 2016
    • Thank you Mike, appreciate that. Thanks, I like the look of it as well.

      April 12, 2016
  3. The shots of the Harbour at sunset are absolutely gorgeous.

    April 12, 2016
    • Thank you Jesse.

      April 12, 2016
      • No problem. I always enjoy seeing beautiful images.

        April 12, 2016
      • πŸ˜€

        April 14, 2016
  4. Beautiful photos Leanne… I know what you mean about wordpress.com that is why I went self-hosted a year ago. You do have more control over your blog and there are some great themes out there to use. As much as I am trying to get used to the new post layout.. I find myself reverting back to the old dashboard.

    April 12, 2016
    • I didn’t realize you had, I’ve missed out on some stuff, I will have to subscribe to the new one. Did you go with the WordPress.org? I did, but it rarely changes, which is nice. Oh yes, I know what you mean. Thanks Bren.

      April 14, 2016
      • How do you subscribe, do I have to use Hootsuite or something. That program is really annoying me at the moment.

        April 14, 2016
  5. Hey Leanne! I enjoy your work so much that I’ve just subscribed to your other blog too. Many thanks for sharing this post and all will be well with your book very soon πŸ˜‰ keep the faith.

    April 12, 2016
    • That is wonderful, on both counts, thank you. You’re welcome, and hopefully the book won’t be too far away.

      April 14, 2016
      • Hi Leanne at the bottom of the blog in the right hand corner should be a follow or you can do it via your WordPress Reader by clicking on manage your followed sites and then adding my url.

        Yes I stayed with wordpress and you can link your self-hosted to your wordpress.com account which I did but like you I still love the old editor. Even though I can use the new editor if I wish I still opt for the old one. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        April 14, 2016
      • It seems I’m following it afterall, did you carry your followers over? I clicked on the link when you posted and there I was.
        How did you link it Bren, I don’t know anything about this. I must say I was liking the new editor, then they made more changes and the gallery didn’t work as well, and you can’t do many things that you could with the old one, so I use the old most of the time now.

        April 15, 2016
      • When I changed over I migrated my followers to my self hosted blog.. and WordPress transferred all my stats over for me… they only thing they couldn’t migrate was the likes of the old posts.

        April 15, 2016
      • I hadn’t thought of doing that, maybe I should try it.

        April 15, 2016
  6. What a gorgeous set of images, Leanne!

    I wish you lots of luck with the finalisation of your book; knowing the high standards of your work, I am sure it’s going to be just beautiful.

    I eagerly await the next issue of Dynamic Range – it’s a *fantastic* magazine, elegantly laid out, with informative, well-written articles accompanied by breath-taking photographs. If any of your readers haven’t yet made up their minds whether they want to subscribe to it or not, I can highly recommend it – each issue has been brimful of interesting information.

    April 12, 2016
    • Thank you Reggie,
      I hope they are, it is hard for me to tell as I have seen them so much.
      Wonderful feedback on the magazine, the next issue isn’t too far away now. Can I use your feedback for out social media?

      April 14, 2016
      • Absolutely, Leanne. I hope you’ll get many more subscribers.

        April 14, 2016
      • Me too Reggie, thank you.

        April 14, 2016
  7. I have just subscribed to your other site, Leanne. I just love your photography Good luck with the book too πŸ™‚

    April 12, 2016
    • That’s is great, thank you Suzanne. πŸ˜€

      April 14, 2016
  8. Leanne, it was a joy to read this this morning! First, I have shared your new magazine pitching guidelines with a group of female photographers and writers. I hope you see an influx of new ideas in your in-box. Second, I am excited to pitch you myself… that will come later today! Third, Congrats on pushing the envelope for female photographers.

    April 12, 2016
    • Thank you on all counts Angela, we hope to make a small difference and show that women photographers are very capable of more than portraits and wedding.

      April 14, 2016
  9. Beautiful images, Leanne. … Don’t feel too badly. I juggle creative projects all the time. It’s why I lose track of Monochrome Madness occasionally. πŸ˜‰ It’s life. Be well … Dorothy

    April 12, 2016
    • Thank you Dorothy, it can be hard, especially when there is so much going on. You be well too. πŸ˜€

      April 14, 2016
  10. Amazing gallery Leanne. I love your night photography.

    April 12, 2016
    • Thank you Cardinal, it is fun to do, good if you have somewhere interesting to do it as well.

      April 14, 2016
  11. Amy #

    What a night light photo gallery! Incredibly beautiful! πŸ™‚

    April 12, 2016
  12. hmunro #

    My gosh. I don’t know how you do it β€” I felt tired after just *reading* about your many projects! But I’m glad to hear that your book is coming along, and I’m grateful (as always) for your inspiring insights and photos.

    PS: I just signed up for your website blog, too. Thank you for the link! I love your work and will gladly follow you to whatever platform works best for you.

    April 13, 2016
    • It can be tiring, especially trying to remember everything I have to do. Yes, I’m glad the book is almost there. Thank you.

      That is brilliant, thank you for subscribing there.

      April 14, 2016
  13. Stunning shots and have subscribe to your other blog now. Have a wonderful week, Leanne.

    April 13, 2016
    • Thank you Cattan, and for the other too, you have a good week too. πŸ˜€

      April 14, 2016
  14. Maybe it’s time to close this site down. I have contacted WP about their use of two different Admin areas. The blue gray side and the older interface which is much better. They have no plans to change it which is just stupid. I like WP.com but…

    April 13, 2016
    • I would like to John, but I can’t lose the followers, if you know what I mean. I sometimes don’t think WP are really interested in what we want. I will be making changes though, over time.

      April 14, 2016
      • Oh, I completely agree, Leanne. It stinks. Seems self-hosted is the only way to remedy this.

        April 14, 2016
      • I have to make my self hosted one more appealing.

        April 14, 2016
  15. Beautiful images Leanne.

    April 13, 2016
  16. Your photos are amazing as usual.

    April 13, 2016
  17. gorgeous shots!!
    Glad to hear you have a few projects on the go and you are keeping yourself entertained ie ‘busy!!’ ; just hope you take time for your self too, Leanne πŸ™‚

    April 13, 2016
    • I am certainly keeping myself busy. Too busy I think sometimes. I try to Debi, thank you. πŸ˜€

      April 14, 2016
  18. I love your vivid colors, Leanne!

    April 13, 2016
    • Thank you Pam, they did work for this.

      April 14, 2016
  19. Sounds to me like you (me too!) need to streamline your life. I tend to say yes to projects that sound great, but which eat my time. I need to be selective. And we all need to try and internalize the reality that we cannot do everything, even if we want to.

    Which is why I am not volunteering quite yet to write anything. I think I will see if I have something I think it worth publishing and THEN I’ll talk about it!

    I’m looking forward to the book!!

    April 14, 2016
    • I need to earn money Marilyn, that’s the problem, I’m doing all these things hoping that one of them will make me a living. So far it isn’t going as planned.
      Thanks Marilyn, I’m looking forward to the book being done, that’s for sure.

      April 14, 2016
  20. Love those night-time reflections on the water.

    The distraction thing, I can understand that. I’ve noticed it seems to be “going around” like a bad cold or flu bug. πŸ™‚

    I think the big changes to WP are done for now. I don’t know what else they could do to modify the UI, but you never know.

    April 14, 2016
    • Thank you David. I love night photos for that reason as well.

      Must be the weather, haha it is the change of seasons perhaps, summer is definitely gone here and winter is on the way, I’m not unhappy about that. πŸ™‚

      I don’t know, I like to think they are, but over the five years I’ve been here I’ve seen many many changes. I doubt they will ever be finished.

      April 14, 2016

Comments are closed.

