Skip to content

Up Before the Birds and Catching up

morning-pre-dawn-melbourne-blue-1617

This last week hasn’t been any different to others. It is all go, but that isn’t a bad thing. I like being busy, it is really nice. I’ve also had a wonderful opportunity to meet some bloggers, which is always lovely.

morning-pre-dawn-melbourne-blue-1565

This Blog

I have just discovered that I can transfer all my followers to the blog on my website. I am unsure about doing this, but it seems like a logical thing to do. It is easy for you and for me. You won’t get email updates on what I’m doing unless you sign up for that, but my posts would still appear in the reader.

I haven’t made a decision about it yet, but would like to hear what you think about it. If I decide to do it it will be in a few months.

morning-pre-dawn-melbourne-blue-1572

Tasmania

The trip is really happening. Yesterday we booked all our accommodation and I’m so excited about going. The trip is affordable, and I think the idea of going in winter is really in our favour. We have been finding deals all over the place. We can’t believe that we got 11 nights accommodation for under a thousand dollars each.  As far as I am concerned that is brilliant. Now we can do a couple of things that we weren’t sure about.

It is going to be interesting photographing Tassie in winter. I’m hoping for lots of moody images. Being able to take my car is good too.

morning-pre-dawn-melbourne-blue-1602

The Mallee

I am heading back up there and my posts this week will be from there. I am really looking forward to getting back. One to see my mum, I love seeing her. Then the second reason because I have some shots I really want to get while I’m there.

I am hoping to get to Lake Albacutya again. It has been a year and a half since I was there and I am curious to see how it looks now.

The pink lakes are also on the list. I want to see if I can do some new photos. They are always a challenge.

I am taking my ND Filters with me and I have plans for many long exposures. The weather is looking cloudy, so perfect for what I would like to do. I can’t wait to start.

morning-pre-dawn-melbourne-blue-1652

Meeting people

I’ve met a couple of people this last week which has been great. I had coffee with one the other day and then yesterday morning I went out with another one, Janice Meyers Foreman from Canada. I had to get up very early to meet her in the city, hoping for a sunrise, but the cloud cover was too thick. We got some lovely shots of the blue hour before dawn and as the light appeared. The sad thing was that as the day dawned it was a rather grey and uninspiring one.It was great meeting Janice and I hope she enjoys her time in Melbourne.

Photos

As you can guess the photos are from the morning. I did something I haven’t done in a long time, I converted them into HDR images in Lightroom. I had to do some reworking in Photoshop for some of them, but it was fun to see what I could get. The very calm reflective river was great to capture the early morning lights into as well. I hope you enjoy them and are having a great weekend.

88 Comments
  1. That’s s-s-s-harp, isn’t it.

    April 17, 2016
  2. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez #

    Reblogged this on The Artistic Spider's Web and commented:
    Up Before the Birds and Catching up
    written by Leanne Cole
    This last week hasn’t been any different to others. It is all go, but that isn’t a bad thing. I like being busy, it is really nice. I’ve also had a wonderful opportunity to meet some bloggers, which is always lovely.

    April 17, 2016
  3. You out did yourself with these reflection shots! Wow, wow, wow!

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Cate, I was so happy with the reflections, didn’t get the sunrise, but can’t be unhappy about that.

      April 17, 2016
  4. Good morning Leanne. It’s lovely to wake up to your blog post. For me, having you do just one blog would be less confusing, and I’m sure easier for you. Also, I think you should contact the Melbourne tourist agency regarding your ability to draw photographers worldwide to the city, via your blog, to meet and shoot with you. Maybe they can feature you in their local publication, giving you some local advertising! At the very least, your blog is attracting a lot of attention to the city.

    April 17, 2016
    • Good morning to you too Anne. Thank you, that’s always nice to know. Yes, I’m starting to see that people are finding that, and I have to admit I get a bit lost between them. There are so many wonderful photographers taking photos of melbourne, I’m not sure they would know who to choose, but thanks for suggesting and saying that.

      April 17, 2016
  5. Yes, transfer us over to your website, I think.

    April 17, 2016
    • I will, just have to work out when. Thanks Robert.

      April 17, 2016
  6. Love your summing up your week with “it’s all go.”

    April 17, 2016
    • Thanks Ruth, pretty much how it was.

      April 17, 2016
  7. Sounds like an exciting trip Leanne! I’m sure you’ll enjoy it enormously! 🙂

    April 17, 2016
    • Thanks Adrian, I think so too, I can’t wait to go.

      April 17, 2016
  8. WOW! I am in awe…….

    April 17, 2016
  9. These are beautiful

    April 17, 2016
  10. Switching the blog is fine with me, Leanne—just so I can continue to get e-mail notification of new posts.

    April 17, 2016
    • that’s great Linda and from what I can gather people think it will be less confusing. YOu would have to be a subscriber for that Linda, you can do that now, just over to my website and subscribe and you will get an email then. Thanks

      April 17, 2016
  11. Wonderful collection! Stunning imagery, very well done Leanne 😀

    April 17, 2016
  12. A stunning array of images, Leanne. I’m seeing tremendous confidence in your images lately, and your distinctive style is rock-solid. I think you’ve hit your stride!!!

    April 17, 2016
    • thank you Mary, what a lovely thing to say, I really appreciate that.

      April 17, 2016
  13. Heartafire #

    stunning!

    April 17, 2016
  14. Nara #

    It is always good to manage the homepage and blog from single webpage.It is easy in a way for viewers to look both portfolios and blogs in one home page.

    April 17, 2016
    • Yes, that is what I am starting to understand now, so it sounds like it could be a good move, thank you so much for your thoughts on it Nara.

      April 17, 2016
  15. Excellent album! I really like the shot with the balloons! tc

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Marland, I love it when the balloons are on the river, well above really.

      April 17, 2016
  16. Very impressive shots. Well done.

    April 17, 2016
  17. Lovely rich colors.

    April 17, 2016
    • what I like about photography at that time, thanks Sherry.

      April 17, 2016
  18. An excellent set of pictures today.

    April 17, 2016
  19. Your photos look almost unreal–like illustrations. The first one looks like the cover of a sci-fi book! Fantastic work. Are you using HDR?

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you, and yes, they all are except one, I did them in LIghtroom and then did more to them in Photoshop.

      April 17, 2016
  20. Lovely dawn shots Leanne. You look to have some interesting and exciting things up ahead, hope you have fun with them. 🙂

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Katie, I think so too, the Tassie trip is going to be amazing, I’m sure. I know I will. 😀

      April 17, 2016
  21. leecleland #

    Hi Leanne I was wondering what you had done differently to the photos – they looked ‘glassy’ is the only way I can describe it and a bit artificial. Some intriguing angles and great shots though.

    April 17, 2016
    • The glassy was the river Lee, it was so still and reflective, perfect for reflections, it was incredible. You don’t see it like that very often. Sorry you think it looked artificial.

      April 17, 2016
  22. Your photos of the river are simply beautiful Leanne. The river must have been so still.

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Carol, I love it when the river is that still, doesn’t happen to often, maybe I need to get back in there at that time more often.

      April 17, 2016
  23. Your idea of combining your 2 blogs into one makes sense. From our point if view it will be seemless and surely easier for you. Your HDR treatment is unreal – very different in a good way, particularly the reflections.
    Enjoy the Malee!

    April 17, 2016
    • I am starting to see how people have found that confusing, so I think it could be a good move, time will tell. Thank you Chris, I rarely do HDr’s now, but I do like it for night photos, it seems to get the darks more detail. Thanks.

      April 17, 2016
  24. Such stunning reflections Leanne, really beautiful. If you ever want to meet up for a coffee, let me know. Now, tell me where these pink lakes are? I didn’t know we had any in Victoria!!

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Desley, I love it when the Yarra is that still. We should meet up, let’s organise something when I get back. The pink lakes up near Mildura in the north west.

      April 17, 2016
      • Fabulous. Thank you, I’ll check it out. My obsession with pink!

        April 17, 2016
      • They don’t always look pink, depends on how much water is in them. Hopefully they might look pink now, but unless there has been rain, probably not.

        April 17, 2016
      • Ok so I need to do some research first. Thanks!

        April 17, 2016
      • It is because of a algae, that is what makes them pink.

        April 17, 2016
      • Yes I’ve read about the ones in WA but didn’t think about it being dependent on other factors. Silly of me.

        April 17, 2016
      • Not silly at all, I thought it was the salt that was pink that gave them the name, so I had to learn too.

        April 17, 2016
  25. These are stunning.

    April 17, 2016
  26. Amanda Hodgins #

    Leanne I loved reading your blog this morning. You have had a very busy week. I just love the Yarra reflection photos. The river was so calm and tranquil. It makes me want to get in their very early one morning myself. The pink lakes sound interesting. Your Tassie trip will be fantastic. Such a pretty place to photograph. I have ordered my filters so can’t wait to go and try them out.

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Amanda, that is wonderful to hear. I have had a busy week, it never seems to stop.The river was very calm, I wish it was like that every time I went. They are interesting, I’ve been there many times now. I can’t wait for Tassie, somewhere really new. That is great to hear you have ordered them, what did you get?

      April 17, 2016
      • Amanda Hodgins #

        Leanne you wouldn’t believe it but I have gone with NiSi filters. I have done lots of reading and research and I think they will be what I am most happy with. Cross fingers. Budget was a big consideration and they were very well priced. Can’t wait to see all your Tassie pics. Your photos inspire me every time I see them. Hope you enjoyed the beautiful weather today.

        April 17, 2016
      • Wow, why the Nisi Amanda, I just need to ask. Thanks

        April 18, 2016
  27. that first photo blows me away!! wow. and the others are gorgeous…
    as far as combining the blogs and still getting it in the Reader – that Works for me!!

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Debi, that is great to hear, thanks for letting me now.

      April 17, 2016
  28. I love Tassie. Flew down for a shoot last week actually! You’ll love it Leanne.

    April 17, 2016
    • Thanks Matt, I can’t wait to see it, I thyink it is going to be great.

      April 17, 2016
  29. Love your morning shots! The HDR works great, just awesome!

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Tiny, it does work with these I think, good thing for HDR.

      April 17, 2016
  30. Lovely colours – I do not usually like HDR but think that these really work

    April 17, 2016
    • Yeah, I’m not a huge fan either Diana, but I think night photos work really well. Thank you.

      April 17, 2016
  31. Wow, I am very impressed by the pictures, they look stunning😍

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you, that is great to hear you like them.

      April 17, 2016
  32. Love your reflections .. Wow! I think it would make sense to transfer Leanne. Ah, Tassie ..you will love it!

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Julie, it seems to be the common response, which is good. I can’t do it just yet, but soon I think I will just go for it.
      I think I will too Julie.

      April 17, 2016
  33. I am looking forward to seeing the photos that you will bring back from Tasmania, Leanne.

    April 17, 2016
    • Thank you Peter, hopefully there will be some good ones.

      April 18, 2016
  34. Not often you see the transition from dark to light. Very nice.

    April 18, 2016
    • I hadn’t thought of that, but yes, I get what you mean. Thank you.

      April 18, 2016
  35. Stunning!!

    April 18, 2016
  36. Amazing set of photos Leanne. I should get up early and shoot some too. Haven’t done that for a while. Perhaps this Sunday…

    April 18, 2016
    • Thank you Cardinal, it can be very rewarding getting up early. Yes, see what you can get.

      April 18, 2016
  37. These images are spectacular! Wow! Good work, Leanne. And best of luck with your trip to Tasmania, it sounds magical.

    April 19, 2016
    • Thank you Reggie. I think Tassie will be that, I’m looking forward to some very moody images.

      April 19, 2016
  38. Hi Leanne, thanks for sharing the morning with me, while we didn’t get the sunrise we did get some great reflections. I have posted on instagram, and will finish a blog post later in the week! I am hoping to get involved with the Monochrome madness again, that is how I found you so many months ago, and if you want to transfer my subscription to your other blog that is fine with me. Thanks again for getting up so early to meet me in the city, after several days here I know why you love Melbourne!

    April 20, 2016
    • You are very welcome Janice, any time. I think we got something even better than a sunrise. I look forward to your blog post, I’ve been seeing your photos on IG.It would be great if you started doing MM again. I’ve met so many people through that challenge, it has been wonderful. Thank you, I am going to give it a couple of months and then I will transfer everyone over. No problem, it was great meeting you and sharing my city with you.

      April 22, 2016
  39. amy #

    I always enjoy your night shots…. So crisp and colorful!

    April 21, 2016
    • That is great to hear Amy, I love doing them too. Thank you.

      April 22, 2016

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Up Before the Birds and Catching up — Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY – zerihungadisa1@gmail.com

Comments are closed.

